Commonwealth Legislation

Commonwealth legislation is law enacted by the Parliament of Australia.

Other terms used to describe Commonwealth legislation are "Acts of Parliament" and "statutes".

Some examples of Commonwealth legislation directly relating to the education and training portfolio include but are not limited to:

  • Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority Act 2008
  • Australian Technical Colleges (Flexibility in Achieving Australia's Skills Needs) Act 2005
  • Child Care Act 1972
  • Competition and Consumer Act 2010
  • Education Services for Overseas Students Act 2000
  • Education Services for Overseas Students (Registration Charges) Act 1997
  • Higher Education Funding Act 1988
  • Higher Education Support Act 2003
  • Indigenous Education (Targeted Assistance) Act 2000
  • National Vocational Education and Training Regulator Act 2011
  • Schools Assistance Act 2008
  • Schools Assistance (Learning Together - Achievement Through Choice and Opportunity) Act 2004
  • Skilling Australia's Workforce Act 2005
  • Student Assistance Act 1973
  • Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011

Commonwealth legislation can be found via the Federal Register of Legislation website.

​ ​